Chamber Chat: An evening of winners!


The Carthage Chamber of Commerce celebrated the past year with a Casino Royale themed Annual Banquet, on Friday, January 18th.  Over 400 Chamber members and community leaders gathered to recognize outstanding teachers, business leaders, volunteers, and community members.

A Retiring Board of Directors Award was given to Rodney Hinds of Southwest Missouri Bank in appreciation of his continued insight, support and/or encouragement.

Roy Mason of Race Brothers Farm & Home won the Chairman’s Award for his contributions to the Chamber and Carthage community. Abi Almandinger was named this year’s ATHENA Award Recipient. The ATHENA award, sponsored by the Ruth I. Kolpin Foundation and Missouri Southern State University, is a nationally recognized award presented in recognition of those who support, develop, and honor women leaders.

Lowell Davis took home Artist of the Year in recognition of contributions to the Carthage art community over many decades. The Carthage R-9 honored Kylie Kyte, Bryan Shallenburger, Pamela Hitchcock, and Caleb Bayless with Golden Key Awards, sponsored by Crowder College.


For their historically focused work on their home on south Main, Al & Marjorie Carter took the Golden Hammer prize, sponsored by Edward Jones – Darren Collier. After many years of service to patients in the Carthage area, Janice Duncan was named Humanitarian of the Year from the McCune Brooks Healthcare Foundation in recognition of her significant contribution to improvements to healthcare in the Carthage community

Presented to recognize an organization, committee, group, or individual that has contributed significantly to make our community a better place to live, Oak Pointe Assisted Living & Memory Care by Mark Elliff of the Chamber of Commerce. The Spotlight Award, sponsored by Camp Mi Casa on the Route was presented to Schmidt Associates for their overall enhancement of the business community of Carthage through revitalization or improvements made to their brand-new business location.

The Small Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Game On, winner was Halo Salon owners Taylor Macy and Jade Reed for achievement in providing a positive image and been a vibrant entity within the Carthage business community. Taylor and Jade made an exciting expansion announcement in their speech. Jonathan Roberts of Fair Acres Family YMCA, last year’s recipient, presented Jenny Brust of H.E. Williams with Emerging Leader of the Year. Sponsored by Fair Acres Family YMCA, this award is presented in recognition of individuals who further their career path or begin a new career path.

Susan Wendleton was named Richard M. Webster Citizen of the Year Award. Given in memory of the late Senator Richard M. Webster, and sponsored by the Rotary Club, the Citizen of the Year Award is presented in recognition of demonstrated devotion to the Carthage community.

Thanks to all our sponsors including Leggett & Platt, H.E. Williams, Mercy Hospital Carthage, Beimdiek Insurance, Schmidt Associates, Central Pet Care, Southwest Missouri Bank, Jordan CPA Services, 417 Janitorial, Carthage Animal Hospital, Carthage Water & Electric, Fair Acres Family YMCA, Grundy’s Body and Frame, Guaranty Bank, KOAM & FOX TV, LPL Financial, McCune-Brooks Healthcare Foundation, Prater’s Pharmacy, Race Brothers Farm & Home, SNC Squared, and US Bank.  Special thanks to the Fathers of the CRM, Bloom Boutique, Carthage High School Jazz Ensembles 1 and 2, Carthage Police Color Guard, Carthage Police Explorers, Carthage Nazarene, First United Methodist Church, Carthage Press & John Hacker, Ron Petersen Sr., Chamber Ambassadors, Banquet Committee members, and ALL our volunteers and guests!