MSSU’s Turnbull & Stokes named All-MIAA

Photo courtesy MSSU

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Missouri Southern women’s basketball team picked up a pair of All-MIAA honors as the league announced its postseason awards this morning.
Senior Carley Turnbull was named a third-team pick, while sophomore Madi Stokes picked up honorable-mention honors as well as being named to the MIAA All-Defensive Team.
This season Turnbull was the MIAA’s Player of the Week when she averaged 25 points, 5.5 rebounds and three assists in helping the Lions to wins over Northeastern State and Rogers State. She shot 51 percent from the field that week and 82 percent from the free throw line.
For the season, Turnbull leads the Lions with 13.7 points per game and is second with 4.9 rebounds per game. She is shooting 43 percent from the field and 79 percent from the free throw line. Turnbull is third on the team with 35 assists and leads the Lions with 22 steals.
Stokes raced onto the scene as a sophomore for the Lions and moved up the rankings on the blocks list at MSSU. She currently ranks second in single-season blocks with her 47 putbacks this year and ranks fifth nationally in that category. She leads the MIAA in total blocks, blocks per game, total rebounds, rebounds per game and defensive rebounds per game.
Earlier this season, Stokes became just the third player to ever have a 20 point, 20-rebound game in MSSU history when she put up 21 points and 22 rebounds against Emporia State. Not to be out done, she followed that up with a 31-point, 21-rebound game against Rogers State, becoming the first Lion to ever have at least 30 points and 20 rebounds in a single game. The first 30-point, 20-rebound game in Division II this season. Stokes also tied an MSSU single-game record with seven blocks in that contest.
The complete All-MIAA team is listed below. Tre’Zure Jobe of Emporia State was the MIAA Player of the Year, while Morgan VanHyfte of Central Missouri was the Defensive Player of the Year. Molly Hartnett of Northwest Missouri was the Freshmen of the Year, while Tony Hobson of Fort Hays State was the Coach of the Year.
The Lions open up MIAA Tournament play tonight as Southern is at Fort Hays State for a 6 pm tip off in Hays.

2021 MIAA Postseason Awards

Player of the Year – Tre’Zure Jobe – Emporia State, Sophomore
Defensive Player of the Year – Morgan VanHyfte – Central Missouri, Senior
Freshman of the Year – Molly Hartnett – Northwest Missouri
Coach of the Year – Tony Hobson – Fort Hays State

2021 MIAA All-Defensive Team

Cydney Bergmann – Fort Hays State, Junior
Tre’Zure Jobe – Emporia State, Sophomore
Brooke Rayner – Central Oklahoma, Junior
Kelsey Sanger – Nebraska Kearney, Senior
Madi Stokes – Missouri Southern, Sophomore
Morgan VanHyfte – Central Missouri, Senior
[Reflects tie in voting]

2021 All-MIAA First-Team

Nija Collier – Central Missouri, Senior
Jaden Hobbs – Fort Hays State, Senior
Tre’Zure Jobe – Emporia State, Sophomore*
Kelsey Johnson – Central Oklahoma, Senior
Whitney Randall – Fort Hays State, Senior
*Unanimous Selection


2021 All-MIAA Second-Team

Elisa Backes – Nebraska Kearney, Junior
Hunter Bentley – Washburn, Senior
Kaylee Damitz – Pittsburg State, Junior
Tristan Gegg – Pittsburg State, Junior
Olivia Nelson – Central Missouri, Freshman

2021 All-MIAA Third-Team

Brooke Carlson – Nebraska Kearney, Junior
Graycen Holden – Central Missouri, Freshman
Fredricka Sheats – Emporia State, Senior
Haley Simental – Nebraska Kearney, Graduate
Carley Turnbull – Missouri Southern, Senior

2021 All-MIAA Honorable Mention

Central Missouri – Gigi McAtee – Senior
Central Oklahoma – Jaci Little – Sophomore, Brooke Rayner – Junior
Emporia State – Ehlaina Hartman – Freshman, Karsen Schultz – Junior
Fort Hays State – Cydney Bergmann – Junior, Olivia Hollenbeck – Freshman
Lincoln – Niyah Jackson – Sophomore
Missouri Southern – Madi Stokes – Sophomore
Nebraska Kearney – Klaire Kirsch – Junior
Northeastern State – Zaria Collins – Sophomore, Cenia Hayes – Senior
Northwest Missouri – Molly Hartnett – Freshman, Mallory McConkey – Senior
Rogers State – Samariah Thompson – Junior
Washburn – Nuria Barrientos – Junior