Cam Martin named unanimous First-Team All-MIAA

Photo courtesy MSSU

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Missouri Southern men’s basketball senior Cam Martin has been named a unanimous first-team All-MIAA selection as the MIAA announced its postseason awards this morning.
Joining Martin on the All-MIAA team was fellow senior Stan Scott who was named a third-team selection.
Martin, a 6-9 senior from Yukon, Okla., moved into the No. 2 spot in the MSSU all-time scoring list this past week and went over 2,000 points in his three-year career as a Lion. He now has 2,009 points in three seasons of the Green and Gold. Martin is leading the Lions with 24.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game this year, while also leading the team with 73 assists, 23 blocks and 27 steals. Martin is shooting 58 percent from the floor, 45 percent from long-range and 74 percent from the free throw line.
Martin leads the MIAA in total points, total field goal attempts, total field goals made, total blocks, scoring field goal percentage and defensive rebounds per game. He is second in blocks per game, double-double’s, free throw attempts, free throws made and total rebounds, while ranking third in rebounds per game.
Martin ranks in the top 10 nationally in ten different categories including leading D2 in total points and total field goals made. He ranks second in total rebounds and total field goal attempts, third in defensive rebounds, fifth in double-doubles, total minutes and points per game, and sixth in both free throws made and attempted. Martin also ranks 24th in total blocks.
Martin sits near the top of six different MSSU career categories for the Lions. Martin currently has the top career scoring average at 23.6 and most free throw attempts at 630, while ranking second in career scoring (2,009), third career rebounds (799) fourth in career field goal percentage (.592) and fifth in blocks (102).
Scott ranks sixth in the MIAA in total blocks and tenth in field goal percentage, while ranking in the top 20 of eight different offensive and defensive categories. This season, Scott is second on the team with 13.8 points per game, while averaging 5.2 rebounds. He is shooting 52 percent from the floor and 50 percent from the three-point line, while making 75 percent of his free-throws. He and Martin are tied for the team-lead in steals with 27.
The complete All-MIAA team is listed below. Trevor Hudgins of Northwest Missouri was the Player of the Year, while his teammate, Diego Bernard and coach Ben McCollum were the Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year. Fort Hays State’s Kaleb Hammeke was the Freshmen of the Year.
Martin and the Lions open up the MIAA Tournament tonight, playing host to Central Oklahoma at 6 pm.

2021 MIAA Postseason Awards

Player of the Year – Trevor Hudgins – Northwest Missouri, Junior
Defensive Player of the Year – Diego Bernard – Northwest Missouri, Junior
Freshman of the Year – Kaleb Hammeke – Fort Hays State
Coach of the Year – Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri

2021 MIAA All-Defensive Team

Diego Bernard – Northwest Missouri, Junior
Tyrell Carroll – Missouri Western, Junior 
Tyler Geiman – Washburn, Senior
Ryan Hawkins – Northwest Missouri, Senior
Cam Potts – Lincoln, Senior

2021 All-MIAA First-Team

Tyler Geiman – Washburn, Senior
Ryan Hawkins – Northwest Missouri, Senior
Trevor Hudgins – Northwest Missouri, Junior
Cam Martin – Missouri Southern, Senior
Jared Vitztum – Fort Hays State, Senior


2021 All-MIAA Second-Team

Diego Bernard – Northwest Missouri, Junior 
Tyrell Carroll – Missouri Western, Junior 
Jumah’Ri Turner – Emporia State, Senior
Isaiah Wade – Central Oklahoma, Senior 
Sevon Witt – Lincoln, Sophomore

2021 All-MIAA Third-Team

Bobby Arthur-Williams – Pittsburg State, Graduate
Quinton Drayton – Lincoln, Junior
Callen Haydon – Central Oklahoma, Junior
Devin Pullum – Rogers State, Senior
Stan Scott – Missouri Southern, Senior

2021 All-MIAA Honorable Mention

Central Missouri – Cameron Hunter – Senior
Central Oklahoma – Cam Givens – Junior
Emporia State – Austin Downing – Senior
Fort Hays State – Kaleb Hammeke – Freshman
Lincoln – Cam Potts – Senior
Missouri Western – Caleb Bennett – Junior, Will Eames – Sophomore, Reese Glover – Sophomore
Nebraska Kearney – Austin Luger – Senior, Jake Walker – Senior
Newman – Joel Boyce – Junior
Northeastern State – Trey Sampson – Junior
Northwest Missouri – Luke Waters – Sophomore
Pittsburg State – Quentin Hardrict, Jr. – Junior
Rogers State – Darraja Parnell – Senior, Brewster Peacock – Senior
Washburn – Jonny Clausing – Junior, Jalen Lewis – Junior