Boots Court among 2023 Missouri Preservation Award Recipients

Photo courtesy Missouri Preservation

JEFFERSON CITY — On Tuesday, April 25, 2023 the Missouri Alliance for Historic Preservation (Missouri Preservation) presented its 2023 Honor Awards at a ceremony in Jefferson City in the Capitol first floor rotunda. A luncheon reception followed at the Millbottom Event Center.

This is the 43rd annual Honor Awards held by Missouri Preservation. The Awards recognize people and projects that have advanced the field of Historic Preservation in Missouri. This year eleven recipients were recognized for their contributions, including individual building projects, long-term preservation initiatives, published works, and lifetime achievements.

About Missouri Preservation


Founded in 1976 as the Missouri Heritage Trust, Missouri Preservation has evolved into a respected grassroots network of individuals, organizations, and preservation commissions throughout Missouri. Missouri Preservation advocates for, educates about, and assists in the preservation of architectural and historic landmarks that embody Missouri’s unique heritage and sense of place.

This year’s award recipients are:

The Rozier Award
Named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, one of the founding members of Missouri Preservation and a noted Jefferson City Preservationist, the Rozier Award was established to recognize individuals who have made significant achievements in the field of historic preservation in Missouri. This is Missouri Preservation’s most prestigious annual award.

Susan G. Rehkopf
University City, Saint Louis County

Osmund Overby Award
The Overby Award was established to recognize published works that contribute to the documentation and interpretation of Missouri’s architectural history. It honors Dr. Osmund Overby, Art History Professor Emeritus and former head of the historic preservation program at the University of Missouri, Columbia. Dr. Overby was a founding member of Missouri Preservation, lifetime board and advisory member and a nationally recognized leader in historic preservation.

Coloring St. Louis: A Coloring Book for All Ages
By Andrew Wanko, art by Rori!  | Missouri Historical Society Press
Saint Louis City

Lost Jefferson City
By Michelle Brooks | The History Press
Jefferson City, Cole County

McReynolds Awards
The McReynolds Awards, named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, are given annually to individuals or groups who have made significant achievements in the filed or are in the midst of a long-term preservation project, creating synergy in the field of historic preservation. The McReynolds awards are among the most important awards given out each year by the organization.

Rise Community Development
Saint Louis City

Jill Aboussie | City Restoration & Revival LLC
Saint Louis City

Ellen & Gary Dolan | Friends of the Thompson House, Inc.
Trenton, Grundy County

Preserve Missouri Awards
The Preserve Missouri awards recognize the outstanding efforts and projects around the state. Suggested categories include, but are not limited to: Commercial Revitalization, Institutional/Civic Building Restoration, Neighborhood Revitalization, Residential Rehabilitation, Historic Landscape Preservation, Rural Preservation, and Preservationist-in-Action.

Woodneath Branch | Mid-Continent Public Library
Kansas City, Jackson County

Oglesby Hotel Apartments
Kansas City, Jackson County

Casa Di Vite
Excelsior Springs, Clay County

Malone Apartments
Saint Louis City

Boots Court
Carthage, Jasper County

Muir-Willard Project
Joplin, Jasper County

Ashcroft Hall Renovation | College of the Ozarks
Point Lookout, Taney County

Cape Girardeau City Hall Restoration & Addition
Cape Girardeau, Cape Girardeau County