Deadline is Tuesday to file for school board, city council


The deadline is today (Tuesday, Jan. 15) to file for the city council and board of education seats open in the April 2, 2019 local and municipal elections.

Two of the seven seats are open on the Carthage R-9 Board of Education and six of the 10 seats are open on the Carthage City Council.

Three people have already filed for School Board and eight people have filed to run for city council.



Carthage City Council

Residents of Ward 5 and in Ward 4, both in the south part of Carthage, will have choices to make in the April 2 election.

Carthage teacher Ed Barlow was the first person to file for Carthage City Council Ward 5 when the filing period opened on Dec. 11. Former City Council Member T.J. Teed also filed for the Ward 5 seat.

In Ward 4, incumbent Alan Snow and a challenger, Dawn Denniston, filed for the two-year term.

Two seats are open in Ward 2, a two-year term currently held by David Armstrong and a one-year term to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Timothy Shields. Armstrong has filed for reelection to the two-year term and Raymond West has filed for the one-year seat.

Carthage Mayor Dan Rife appointed West to fill the Ward 2 seat which has been vacant since late last summer and he was sworn into office on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

In the other wards, James Harrison filed for a second, two-year term in Ward 1 and Ceri Otero filed for a second term in Ward 3.

People interested in running for the six open city council seats can file at Carthage City Hall on the east side of the Carthage Square, 326 Grant St.


Carthage R-9 Board of Education

The two incumbents and one challenger had filed for the two open seats on the governing body for the Carthage school district.

Residents will vote for two people on each ballot and the top two vote-getters will win the election.

Incumbents Justin Baucom and Niki Cloud, and challenger Wayne Jones, all filed in the days before the Christmas holiday.

Terms for the school board seats are three years each.

Filing for School Board seats will be at the Carthage R-9 District Administration office, 710 Lyon St., Carthage.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.